The City of Flowers, Pyin Oo Lwin

Pyin Oo Lwin was formerly known as May Myo. It is a resort town in Mandalay Division in Myanmar, located some 67 kilometers east of Mandalay, and at an altitude of 1070 meters (3510 feet). It was initially a Shan village situated between Naungcho and Mandalay on the Lashio-Mandalay road. Pyin Oo Lwin is also known as " Pan Myo Daw", means "The City of Flowers", for its different species and colorful flowers grown intensively.

During the British colonial occupation, the British, in 1896, developed it as a hill station because of its cool alpine climate, especially during the hot season. The colonial government of Myanmar would move to May Myo during the hot season to escape from the high heat and humidity of Pyin Oo Lwin. The name May Myo means May Town in Burmese, and comes from the town's first administrator, Colonel May. As a legacy of the colonial period, the town has approximately 10,000 Indian and 5,000 Nepali inhabitants, who served in the British Indian Army and settled in May Myo after the British left, and granting independence to Burma. May Myo was also an important educational centre during colonial times, with the Government English High Schools, such as St. Mary's, St. Michael's, St. Albert's, and Colgate, all based in the town. It is also home to the Myanmar Defence Services Academy (DSA).
Pyin Oo Lwin is also well known for its colonial style houses with large compound and pine trees, unique horse carriages in town.
Pyin Oo Lwin is also a good place for shopping. Knitted sweaters, wines, Strawberry jams and various fresh fruits are popular products of Pyin Oo Lwin. Organic ground coffee from local plantations is good enough for export, as well.


Popular Destinations in Pyin Oo Lwin Myanmar

National Landmarks Garden

Just beside the Kandawgyi National Botanical Gardens is another must-see attraction, the National Landmarks Garden. It consists of scale models of well known landmarks from each State in Myanmar, including its most famous pagodas, spread over 50 acres of parkland. There is a mini theme park and a huge garden. It is established in 2006 with the aims to be able to observe ancient cultural edifices, pagodas and stupas, palaces, caves, hills and mountains can be viewed round collectively in the garden.

Purcell Tower


Purcell Tower stands in the heart of the town, Pyin Oo Lwin. The clock was one of the few made in 1934 by Gillete and Johnson Co. of England in commemoration of the Silver Jubilee of the reign of King George V of Britain.

Pyin Oo Lwin Market

Pyin Oo Lwin market is situated at the center of the town, near Purcell Tower. There have a lot of products from the fields, especially wines, strawberry jam and coffee. Various kinds of woolen clothes; very famous product of Pyin Oo Lwin, are available at the market.

Chan Tak Buddhist Temple

South of Pyin Oo Lwin is a large and colorful Chinese temple built by the many Yunanese immigrants to the town. It is close to Thiri Myaing Hotel (originally called Candacraig).

Colonial Houses


There are many British colonial houses and Christian churches in Pyin Oo Lwin. Most of the colonial houses are situated at the south end of the circular road.

Candacraig Hotel


Candacraig Hotel, originally a guest house of The Bombay Burma Trading Company, was built in 1904.
Nan Myaing Hotel, former the colonial rest house called Craddock Court.
Gandamar Myaing Hotel, formerly known as 'Croxton' is one of the old British mansions converted into hotel.
The original Governor's House was built in 1903 and completely destroyed in about 1943. The impressive replica of the colonial Governor's House can be viewd as a high class hotel at that place.
All Saints Anglican Church, founded in 1912, is one of the historical churches in Pyin Oo Lwin.